Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent years, a lot of investments have been made space exploration. Some people think that governments should be concentrating the resources of their countries to produce more benefit for the citizens, which is a statement that I somewhat disagree with.

From one side, millions of people around the world are struggling to become successful in the modern day society. This is due to the fact that a large part of the population in developing countries, which take up a high percentage in the world, cannot afford higher education and in turn cannot compete on the job market. For example, a friend of mine was never able to go to university, as he needed to start work immediatly, after he turned 18, to support his family. If they had aid from the government, he could have made a career by now.

On the other hand, space exploration might actually save the human race. As wars, famines, and disasters from climate change continue to grow, humanity is is being pushed towards its extinction. In the exploration of the cosmos, we might find refuge on another planet or on a space craft. Currently some companies as SpaceX from Elon Musk are researching those opportunities, to prepare for the worst case scenario.

In conclusion, although currently there are a lot of pressing social and economical issues that need to be taken care of by the governments, I believe that the benefits of investing in space exploration outweigh the disadvantages, as they are our last resort in saving humanity.