Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Man’s quest to explore the universe is not new and many ancient Greek , Egyptian and other historic writings

are proof to the same. However, this exploration comes with exorbitant costs, leading to the argument , whether this expenditure is a futile one and can be avoided; and whether the governments could spend the money on more pressing arenas such as education and health for their respective countries. I disagree to this argument and firmly believe that man should dedicate time and effort for the study of the world beyond, being aware of our universe is important and even may bring in solutions for progress and sustenance of humankind.

Firstly , the study of space and its findings has helped us understand the atmosphere and the factors impacting the changes in our environment. Satellites sent into space, have helped understand our climatic conditions , make accurate weather predictions, which help us be better prepared. For example, the prediction of a cyclone or hurricane helps the authorities to take precautions and lead the civilians to safety. Secondly, the exploration of space was also conducted with an intention to find if there is life elsewhere and to find an alternative home, incase of the natural end of our world. Towards this , we are still in early stages, but scientists are making breakthrough in many areas with the help of advanced technology and equipment. Thus, it is undoubtedly important that man continues and develops this study.

Admittedly, the money spent towards this cause is definitely huge and rightly so, however, as long as it is cautiously budgeted, it should be good. For example , a fraction of the countries GDP can be allotted towards space exploration. Additionally, countries, rather than competing against each other, could work together , for better cause of good to humanity. The collective effort would lead to considerable savings and sharing of knowledge and expertise.

To conclude with, study of space exploration and money spent on the same is a required one and governments should allot a portion towards this, however with caution.