Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Space has always been a mystery box that attracted enlightened minds, governments should spend an appropriate amount of money into space exploration. This must be made to help mankind be aware of what is around our planet, in addition this contributes to the scientific position of the country by attracting investors, thus contributing to the whole economy.

Earth is just a mere planet within a huge solar system which in turn a part of a much bigger universe. The human’s sense of curiosity is always the reason behind all discoveries since the beginning of time, I believe it is crucial to stay aware of our surroundings and learning more about them via space exploration. Space exploration made some very interesting discoveries till now, without governments’ funds towards it, we would have never known the other planets of the solar system, nor that mars actually has water on its surface for example. These exploration trips can also predict and warn us from disastrous events, such as space objects that can land on or hit our planet. Scientific discoveries are as important as other sectors within governments that need more funding towards them.

Funding in space exploration can be a major contributor to the wealth of nations. Because these funds can lead to cutting edge findings, which can captivate the interests of other countries to invest in, and be a part of future trips, that may lead to further discoveries and their country’s name will forever be linked to it, thus gaining a respectable scientific position as well.

To sum it up, I disagree that money put into space exploration is a waste, yet it is as beneficial as it gets.