More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

Nowadays, there is a increasing trend among the people and corporations to communicate using electronic medium such as e-mails, instead of talking in real person. In this essay i will discuss both the merits and demerits of relying on technology to exchange thoughts.

On the one hand, using electronic medium to communicate is superior to talking face to face because it is less time consuming and does not require to travel to a particular place to give your message. To elaborate it, messages through e-mail could be deliverd to the reciever with in a span of a second. On top of that, electronic messages does not require special meeting time or meeting place and could be deliverd to the reciver from the comfort of your home. For instance, a report from the BBC (British Broadcastion Corporation) suggests tha big companies like Google and Amazon saves about 25 million dolor and more than 1000 hours of work by replacing the meetings mode from offline to online. Thus, using technology to communicate is a better alternative to physical communication.

On the other hand, due to the lack of physical presence in electronic communication, people often find it difficult to understand the emotions and values of the sender . In other words, messages sent through the e-mails, often looked by the reciever as just a piece of text with no value or emotions. For example, a friend of mine lost 5000 dolors because he misunderstood the actual meaning of the text he recieved from his boss. Hence, physical communication is essential to understand the emotion of the message and build personal connection with the sender.

To conclude, although electronic medium have many pros such as saving time and money, yet there are some cons attached to it such as not delivering emotions of the sender.