More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

In today’s world, communication using technology, usually known as online communication, is becoming more popular among businesses and also individuals. The rapid growth of social media in the last two decades has been a significant driver that allows people to connect with others online in a seamless manner. In the world of businesses, more and more meetings these days use online platform like Zoom Meetings or Microsoft Teams on quite a lot of occassions.

Utilization of technology indeed does help us communicate with others in of several factors. The most significant benefit is the more efficient use of time. Communcating online allows people to cut their commuting time, that can take as long as the communication itself whether it is a form of a business meeting, or just to talk to a friend. Furthermore, it also enables long-range communication effortless. We are now just one click away to reach our friends or families who live afar.

On the other hand, communication using technology also has some downsides, such as it might hold back the real emphatic feeling people might experience during face-to-face communication. Often times, in online meeting for example, participants actually have a choice to not showing their faces. Even if they do, non-verbal communication like body language, is difficult to convey. What makes it worse, in my opinion, is an intense and long-term usage of online communication as it can impact one’s social skills in real life. It may affect people’s confidence in meeting others face-to-face. In conclusion, I believe the use of technology for communication is indeed helpful for our society, but it should be utilized properly without a total abandonment of face-to-face communication.