More and more governments are encouraging businesses to move from cities to rural areas. Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Urban to rural migration is increasingly becoming common in many countries. This trend can be attributed to decentralization of industries and high cost of living in urban areas. I believe this is a positive trend since it reduces pressure on infrastructure and social amenities while fostering development in rural areas.

To begin with, one of the primary reasons of this movement is the development of industries in rural areas. Many people opt to move back to the countryside to seek employment in those factories. In addition, due to rise in economy, many people find it difficult to sustain themselves in towns. Due to expensive lifestyle such as high cost of rent and food it forces some individuals to migrate to the village where cost of living is low hence affordable. For instance, in Western Kenya many people moved from Kakamega town to the interior where sugar and tea factories were established for employment.

However, this trend has helped to reduce pressure on infrastructure and social amenities such as roads, schools, and hospitals. This increases quality of services offered since the ratio of resources will be equal. Secondly, this movement is a key contributor to significant development in the countryside. When people get employed in those areas, it raises their living standards and increase revenue collected which is used to develop other sectors of economy in the region. For example, in Webuye, schools and hospitals were established to serve those people who moved to work in the pan paper factory hence contributing to development of that region.

In conclusion, development of industries and economy are the key factors that contribute to movement of people from urban centers such as cities to the countryside. Nevertheless, this trend has improved quality of services offered in towns such as education and medical due to reduction of pressure on resources while at the same time contributing to the development of amenities and infrastructure in rural areas.