Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Most of the things that people used to do at home by their hands are now done by machines in factories, and while most people believe that it is for the best there are some individuals that do not like this way of living very much. I personally believe that this development brings more advantages than disadvantages, however I can agree that some things are better to do yourself.

To begin with I would like to mention all the advantages of such a system. Firstly I would like to mention that if a person claims that it would be better if everything was made by hand like in the good old times, then that person probably does not understand the amount of time that is required to do some things. Using machines for labour also makes many necessary products cheaper and more accessible. If clothes for example were all hand made they would be at least three times more expensive than they are now. Moreover if a person had to spend his whole time doing chores like cooking and cleaning everything by hand he would not have time left to do anything else.

That said, I still believe that there are some things it is better to do by yourself. Altho I mentioned that cooking everything by hand can take a lot of time some people might want to spend doing something else, it is still very important to know how to do it. Moreover, eating homemade food is healthier and in fact preparing it is not always very hard. Another reason for people to learn such things as sewing, gardening, furniture repairing etc. can simply be fun. I believe being skilled in such things is very impressive and a person can genuinely enjoy the process. Furthermore in my opinion it is very important to keep this kind of knowledge and pass it down to the next generations. If we start to rely on machines for everything this knowledge can be lost forever.

In conclusion it is my firm belief that while machines are designed to make our lives easier and should be used for that i still think that there is nothing that a machine can do better that a human.