Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, most of the housework is done by the machine rather than doing it manually. There are some people who argue that the over-reliance on the technology in daily life may lead to severe consequences, but I believe that it has more advantages than disadvantages.

Firstly, doing domestic work by using machines saves a lot of time and energy. A washing machine, dish-washing machine, and vacuum cleaner are all made to reduce the physical work and make the daily work easier. In the modern world, everybody is busy with their jobs, studies and personal works; therefore, time is the most valuable asset in this world. When technology is used as a helping tool and not as a replacement, then it allows people to invest their time in other things. For example, working people and students can invest their time in their job and studies rather than spending their time in cleaning and washing. In my view, it is far better to invest money in purchasing the necessary home appliance than wasting time in doing the daily chore.

Secondly, a machine often improves the standard of living. It does the work more efficiently and sometimes even more hygienically. For example, the modern washing machine can wash the clothes in high temperature which kills the bacteria and provides better hygiene.

Of course, there are some disadvantages of being over dependent on the machine. People may become dependent on technology and gradually they may lose their basic practical skills. Besides that, home appliances are expensive and they require regular maintenance. Moreover, when the machine stops working, then it disturbs the daily routine. However, these are the minor disadvantages compared to the long term advantage they provide.

In conclusion, though there are few disadvantages of home technology, I strongly believe that the advantage of home technology far outweighs the disadvantage especially in saving time and improving living standard.