More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of these measures outweigh the drawbacks?

In this day and age, the introduction of measures, which can be effectively used to enhance the security in large cities has experienced an increase. From my perspective, for several reasons, the given phenomenon brings out numerous positive impacts that outweigh its drawbacks. The subsequent paragraphs will elaborate on my point of view.

Multiple factors advocate for my stance. First and foremost, the growth of the crime rate has always been one of the major concerns among city dwellers as well as the government. It is obvious that the increased crime results in various types of social issues, including deaths, lost properties, and mental health problems (depression, anxiety,…). The long-term consequences of crime significantly impact city citizens’ safety and definitely the development of society. Additionally, with the higher rate of crime in large and crowded urban areas, international visitors are afraid of being attacked, leading to a damaged image of the country as well as inefficient tourism. To cite an instance, India was recognized as the most worth-visiting country in the world, however, the crime breakouts in 2020 were the main reasons for the country’s reduction in visitor rates that negatively affected its economy.

On the other hand, some individuals living in large cities are not totally agree with the use of these measures that used to prevent crime rates. These measures that have recently been introduced by the government consist of video cameras and modern sensors. It is undoubtedly useful in tracking criminals, and the videos are regarded as valuable evidence. Nevertheless, the citizens claim that there is a lack of freedom since the cameras appear on the streets or in public places. They have a feeling of being followed and are not wholeheartedly comfortable engaging in their daily activities, such as doing exercises or dating with their partner. However, these videos are ensured to protect people’s privacy by the government, no one has admission to get access to the videos and records.

In conclusion, the advantages of the use of measures to tackle the increased crime surpass its disadvantages, based on my personal experience. They should be applied universally but with the assurance of city dwellers’ privacy and safety.