More and more newspapers and news channels are using photographs to support their news articles and stories. Some people think that photographs are not a reliable source of news while others consider photographs to be irrefutable. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Nowadays, people rely more on pictures and visual to understand the meaning of a story. Newspaper and media often show various types of images to describe a situation that may or may not be the truth. This concerns parts of the society if they can still trust the news or not. While the other still considers photographs as a fact that can be trusted. So, in this essay I will explain how photo can be a reliable piece of information, while on the other hand it can also be the total opposite.

In the world where people rely on media for information, the new channels or newspapers have to figure out a way to deliver them quickly and truthfully to engage the viewer. The only way to do this is by giving out proof with pictures, from a picture the public will be able to understand the situation better rather than reading it. For example, if a media wanted to reports a war and they need the public to be aware of the issue, they can provide a horrible picture of what is happening so the society will understand how serious the situation was.

On the other hand, photographs can be used wrongly by certain type of news. A picture can’t be defined by only a person perspective, due to this the media can utilize a picture to provoked the public opinion. This often happens to the public figures or politicians where many of their controversial picture are posted online and described far from the reality to create false accusation by the public. Because in the end, the media only cares about the money they will get if they engage a lot of viewers by spreading false ideas of a picture.

In conclusion, using photographs in a news could results in a bad or a good way depends on how the media wanted it to be. Photographs can be used to spread awareness for the society since they will be able to understand it more rather than reading the information through a text. But it can also went the wrong way and be used as false information by the media.