More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think that the government should increase the price of fattening foods to address this issue. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this

Obesity is severely becoming an ongoing trend with lots of people. As a result, one school of thought is that there are some governmental policies related to the cost of fattening foods that need to be implemented in order to tackle this problem. I partly agree with this statement and I will discuss the reasons in this essay.

On the one hand, there are some reasons that explain why the government should raise the cost of fattening foods. For example, obese people often tend to eat a lot in a day, so they have to buy and store many foods to handle their hunger at any time. If the government increases food prices, residents will not be able to afford them, so they will regulate their daily menus to adapt with this implementation, leading to the decreasing ability to be fat.

On the other hand, the governmental policies associated with fattening food cost can have some disagreement. Take, for instance, because of the predominant obesity, the government considers raising the price of food while it becomes an indispensable part of their menu. As a consequence, driving the citizens resentful and resulting in rebellion.

However, there are some substituted solutions for this trending difficulty. Government is likely to raise community awareness of the overweight, educate them about the harmness if they become obese, such as cardiovascular disease. Moreover, constructing more sports facilities in the public spaces can foster them to take regular exercise, losing their weight.

In conclusion, although the government is able to increase the cost of fattening food to prevent the overweight trend, there are still many other solutions it can do.