More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think that the government should increase the price of fattening foods to address this issue. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this

Nowadays, the situation of obesity is increasing, some argue that raising the price of fatty foods can be an effective solution. I partly agree with this view although it is not completely effective with the sedentary lifestyle of people today.

There is a growing concern that more people are becoming seriously overweight. Thus, the first rationale for increasing high-calorie foods prices is to reduce people’s demand for harmful foods. Because most people are sensitive to prices, increasing prices will contribute to reducing obesity rates. Indeed, fattening foods, particularly fast food, are always the first choice of most people such as full-time workers and students because of their convenience and readily available. So even if the price increases, that item is still a convenient and quick food, and it will still be popular. On the other hand, there are opinions that increasing these food items prices can affect low-income people because they rely on cheap and convenient meals. However, the government could include supportive policies, such as subsidizing fresh food or increasing nutrition education. From my perspective, I still feel that this is not the most suitable choice in reducing obesity.

Although increasing the price of high-fat products is a good choice to reduce obesity. But that is not enough, although eating less fat foods but less exercise, everyone can become obese. The reason is because some people still maintain the habit of being sedentary and lazy to eat other clean foods. The solution is that the government should promote and raise people’s awareness in protecting their health, avoiding cardiovascular diseases and diabetes, and at the same time combine increasing fatten foods prices for more effectiveness. When people are aware of the consequences of obesity, they will be able to proactively prevent and reduce it. In addition, the government should also provide support packages to wholesome food, making it more financially accessible to the public at reasonable prices, thereby ensuring people’s health.

All things considered, I largely agree with the view of increasing the price of unhealthy foods, but the measures mentioned above are also an important idea that I want to contribute to the current policy of reducing obesity among people. Compared to increasing the price of fatty foods, it is still better for us to exercise hard, and take care of our health with clean and good products for the body.