More and more people are choosing to educate themselves online. What are the advantages and disadvantage of this?

Nowadays, improving technology enables individuals to gain knowledge on their own online. Learning online foster several benefits significantly such as cost-effectiveness and wide accessibility, but there will also be some drawbacks including unreliable resources and loss of motivation.

One evident upside of getting knowledge virtually is that people save their money. Educating themselves online contribute their budget and improve financial circumstance, for instance, not using any transportation system or purchasing any educational materials such us books, workbooks and learning with their personal gadgets online keeps individual’s money in their pocket. Another major upside is wide range of materials virtually. People may tend to learn different branches of education and needing several regarding resources. Online learning offers widespread accessibility such as YouTube videos, websites, articles and pdfs. It aids learners to educate themselves effectively and easily.

Conversely, educating themselves online also has some downsides. Firstly, having a greater volume of materials than normal may leads to false learning. Learners may access various videos, pdfs, even online teachers, but not all of them are professional and reliable. And any information grasped wrongly may induce people to step into back in their education. Additionally, losing motivation easily is another primary negative when people attempt to learn on their own virtually. Without teacher’s instruction and emotional attitude toward learners personally, they may feel overwhelmed and unmotivated. In addition, healthy competition among individuals boosts their confidence and makes them more motivated. On the other hand, people’s believe in themselves tend to decrease and certainly influences their academic path.

In conclusion, although people encourage themselves to educate on their own online and it has some negative points including wrong access of educational materials and decreased motivation, its upsides are far greater. For example, supporting long-term financial situation and using distinct information online.