More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive or negative development?

Keeping up with fashion trends has been gaining importance. While such a trend may be beneficial for one’s confidence and self-expression, it raises questions about social pressure and environmental impact, for which, I believe, it is a negative development.

On the positive side, wearing fashionable clothes can boost a person’s confidence and self-expression. In today’s competitive world, whether socially or professionally, individuals are often inspired to stand out in some way. If people were to keep up with fashion trends, it might help them feel more comfortable and confident in public settings. For example, in fields such as entertainment or marketing, dressing well is essential and can even enhance career prospects.

However, the negative aspects of this trend are more significant. Most importantly, emphasis on appearance often affects mental well-being. With the advent of social media, many people, especially teenagers under the influence of celebrities, feel compelled to follow expensive fashion trends to fit in, even if they cannot afford them. If such a cultural trend is left unchecked, soon, appearance will be prioritised over personal values or skills, leading to judgment, exclusion and low self-esteem.

Secondly, the obsession with fashion leads to overconsumption. Fast fashion industries thrive on rapidly changing trends, encouraging people to constantly buy new clothes. Once the trend fades, these garments are discarded quickly,contributing to enormous waste and pollution. To illustrate, according to the United Nations (UN), the fashion industry is responsible for about 10% of global carbonemissions.

To conclude, while fashion can serve as a tool for self-expression and confidence, it negatively affects mental health and harms the environment, making it a largely negative development.