More and more people are leaving the countryside and going to cities nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the beginning of the industrial revolution in Great Britain during the 20th century, many farmers who worked in agriculture decided to relocate their entire lives to urban cities. This is because people imagine that living in metropolises with the strive of technology today leads to better living standards. Generally, this is considered true, due to the merits outweighing the downsides. However, in the upcoming paragraphs, details on the advantages and disadvantages will be illustrated.

So, what are the pros of living in cities? Firstly, one of the key points is job opportunities; many citizens who change their lives from being farmers is due to the seeking of a different profession. For example, a study conducted in England during the 1990s proved this reason; the researchers asked 20,000 immigrants from the countryside about the reason for this decision, and about 75% stated that they wanted a different job. But why leave your relaxing life as a farmer and go to the city? This brings us to the second point, which is the decent lifestyle and transportation systems. Furthermore, the reason for this is simple: people want to live in more modernized apartments with good salaries. Likewise, humans dislike walking and wasting time to move from one place to another. However, due to the advancement of technology, transportation has also improved during recent years.

With these advantages come the downsides. Firstly, due to the evolution of industry, poisonous gases are constantly being emitted from factories and cars, which affects the environment and causes pollution. This will be a harsh truth for people living near industries because it has a great impact on the health of people, especially young children. In addition to pollution, there is going to be an increase in crime rates. For instance, the federal agency of the USA published a table in 2005 of crime incidents in California. Robbery, indeed, had a percentage of 45%, and kidnapping accounted for 20% of the common crimes. It also stated that the chance of being robbed at night is about 35%; in contrast, the chance of being robbed in the middle of the night in the countryside is 10%.

Overall, because of the revolution of technology during the past recent years, people see that it is a great chance to change their old tradition and flow with the trend of traveling to urban areas. And from the pros, we can see that they probably made the right choice.