More and more people are leaving the countryside and going to cities nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary society, many people migrate from rural regions to metropolitan cities. This migration could possibly offer more career opportunities, better technology, and provide urban amenities. Conversely, this could affect their adaptation to that lifestyle and high cost of living. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of migrating to a city region from a small-town area.

Graduate’s shifting from a small-town, which had less job offers, can find large companies offering various roles with comparatively high salary. Cities have sophisticated technologies as well as amenities that can be utilized in the daily life. For instance, my neighbor got transfer and his family shifted to Chennai from a rural village. He found the city is well-equipped and had access to better amenities than their village. He also expressed that the metro is so useful for transportations. Additionally, cities have access to all basic requirements, including hospitals, restaurants, malls, parks and stadiums.

Conversely, critics state that the cities have mixed culture and rural people find it difficult to adapt with the hustle-bustle lifestyle. Even though, people can access new technologies and products that enhance lifestyle, the cost they spent on those items are seemingly high. My friend, for example, shifted from my hometown Pollachi to Chennai in order to work in a Multi-National Corporation. During that period, he rented a house for his stay. As a bourgeoisie, he got exhausted by the allowances for food and rentals he made. He observed that a major part of his salary was given to the personal life allowances, including food, rentals and transportations he used in the city.

In summary, urban areas can provide several placements, good gadget devices and high facilities. On the other hand, cities require more incentives to manage daily life and quick change in the way of life.