More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer?

An increasing number of people are relocating from rural areas and moving to cities specifically to find jobs. In this essay, I will discuss consequences of this trend and possible solutions.

Firstly, the relocation of people from rural areas leads to overpopulation in urban communities. When the number of people migrating from the countryside to metropolitan areas continue to rise, cities can quickly get over populated. For example, the rising number of citizens from rural regions in the US led to a significant increase in the cost of affordable housing in 2024. As a result of this, many of these immigrants were forced to live in places without adequate basic amenities. In addition, this trend causes labor shortage. More people leaving agricultural fields means less hands on manual labor. This can pose a great threat to food production by causing shortages.

However, governments should invest in rural infrastructure. The state of most underdeveloped areas are as a result of the absence of industrial infrastructure. If the government is intentionally making this aspect better, the migration would significantly decline. For instance, In 2018, the Nigerian government built a refinery in a village located in the north east. After it was commissioned more than half of all the residents who relocated to urbanized areas returned back in order to gain employment at this industry. Furthermore, the government could invest in the modernization of Agriculture. A large part of the countryside are made up of fields which are suitable for farming. If mechanical means are introduced to these regions, farming can be a lot easier resulting in bountiful production.

In conclusion, relocation of rural residents leads to overpopulation in cities and labor shortage on farmlands. However, governments can tackle this by investing rural infrastructure and modernizing agriculture.