More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer to this problem?

Urbanization is one of today’s phenomena. It can be seen that many individuals working in the agriculture sector are migrating to cities for employment. I believe that this trend has some drawbacks, such as weakening the economy and increasing unemployment. There is much that can be done to address this problem such as helping farmers and allocating some budgets.

Firstly, farmers’ migrations to cities has significant consequences for both the economy and society. Agriculture is one of the important factors for a country’s economy. When many farmers leave this job, it means less food is produced and the country is obliged to import food from other countries. Not only does the currency leave the country but also the country loses the opportunity to export its food and gain wealth. Moreover, as these immigrants do not have specialized skills for urban jobs, they are less likely to find a proper and well-paid job. Therefore, they cannot earn enough money to support themselves and their families. For example, many slums in Tehran are established as a result of the migration of people from the countryside to cities becoming potential places for committing crime.

However, there are several measures that governments could take to solve this problem. First of all, they should allocate substantial budgets to farmers to meet their needs both in their work and in their lives. Farmers need to not have significant worries about their cost of living. Furthermore, the governments strive to recognize farmers’ issues in their job path and try to support and solve them. For instance, China implemented an extensive program for farmers to raise their awareness about the importance of their work and support a significant portion of their living costs.

In conclusion, it is true that the consequences of moving farmers to cities, such as economic shock and societal issues will not be solved quickly, however, the governments can play a crucial role in addressing farmers’ problems both in their personal and professional lives and encourage them to continue their occupation.