More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer to this problem?

Nowadays, several individuals are retreating from the agriculture industry and are seeking jobs in cities, which has a negative effect on the farming industry. This trend increases food crises, eventually leading to increased prices of edible items. There are more optimal solutions, which are articulated in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the impact of this migration can be significant. Although farmers are the backbone of society, they do not earn enough from selling crops and vegetables in the market. Moreover, there is a lack of agricultural funds to buy good quality seeds, fertilizers, and equipment for farming. This leads people to move out from agricultural backgrounds to look for more stable income in the cities. Consequently, due to high demand for food, the cost of edible items increases exponentially. Secondly, this movement causes overpopulation in cities, increasing accommodation prices and competition in the labor market.

In order to address such consequences, the local government can provide numerous solutions, such as government schemes to buy seeds and pesticides; it can provide loans to such individuals at a lower or no interest rate; several educational and awareness programs to encourage agriculture; the government can provide some amount of compensation for damaged crops. Furthermore, an increase in job opportunities in remote areas which provide a stable income can also be beneficial.

To conclude, in my perspective, as the population is growing rapidly, fulfilling food requirements is crucial. Individuals need to invest in this industry to help support farmers. Lastly, the government plays a key role in improving their conditions.