"More and more people are relying on alternative medicine instead of visiting their regular doctor. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend."

In the developed world, there are different kinds of medicine from natural to chemical. According to some, an increasing number of people prioritizes using alternative medicine instead of visiting their regular doctor. From my perspective, while relying on alternative medicine has benefits like saving money and using plant-based treatment, there are also some detrimental consequences.

First benefit of trusting alternative medicine is that it is cheaper compared to chemical-based drugs. To exemplify, medicine industry is controlled by few companies which have an authority to determine the sale price of drugs; therefore, some of them can be very expensive that people may not afford to purchase. So, herbal alternatives are better option in term of spending less money. Moreover, plant-based medicine has fewer side effects than chemical drugs. To articulate differently, using medicine prescribed by doctors can cause other serious health problems like allergic reactions while curing recent issues. This detrimental side of chemical version makes herbal medicine more reliable.

On the other hand, there are some deleterious results of alternative medicines. Firstly, patients can be deceived by fake doctors, losing their money. Some people use others’ difficult situations, such as financial problems and religious believes, to induce them to use herbal medicine, offering economical prices. At the end, they take sick people’s all money without any effective treatment. Another drawback is that anybody can claim to be a healer. This situation increases the risk of unsafe treatments which are very dangerous for human health. To clarify, they may use poisonous plant for making herbal medicine and put others’ lives a risk of death.

In conclusion, the possibility of being deceived and unsafe treatment are the most prevalent negative sides of alternative medicine, whereas there are some advantages. I hope people will be aware of dangerous sides of herbal medicine and will get advice of doctors before taking a drug.