Some people think that a job provides not only an income but also a social life. Other people think that it is better to develop a social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals suggest that social life is also a benefit of a job besides income. Nevertheless, others believe that building a social life with people outside the workplace is better. In this essay, I will evaluate both perspectives before arguing that the benefits vary depending on the context.

On the one hand, jobs not only earn a living for people but also provide a sense of community which share a same goal and profession. After studying in university, the workplace is considered a second school, where we interact with each other the most. Since many employees spend eight to ten hours a day in the office, people have a lot of opportunities to communicate with others and build strong personal and professional relationships. For example, an office worker prefers to talk to people who are in the same office because they have common topics and interests than talking with people who may not fully understand what they experience.

On the other hand, social relationships with colleagues may lead to conflicts , although it is sometimes needed in workplace. Firstly, building connections outside the workplace helps people to avoid using emotions in professional environments. Many corporations set rules to restrict close personal relationships among employees, which may dampen productivity, increasing the revenue of the companies. Moreover, having connections outside our jobs supports people to broaden their horizons of many categories, having a solid knowledge base about world, which supports them too much in their future career and also their daily lives. Specifically, many people are exposured to and build relationships with entrepreneurs, thereby they inherent the knowledge, mindset and energy of these influencers. Subsequently, people may change their life style, becoming wealthier and inspiring others.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on whether developing a social life is another benefit of job, I believe that these pros and cons coexist. While having strong connections with colleagues may make work easier, building relationships with people from different fields help people to broaden their perspectives and increases promotion opportunities.