Some people think that a job provides not only an income but also a social life. Other people think that it is better to develop a social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are some people suggest that career doesn’t only help with living costs but also offering a sense of community. In contrast, another group believe it is more essential to develop relationships with people outside of workplace. Although both views hold merit, I personally agree more with the latter perspective.

Because of the social nature in today’s jobs, interpersonal skills play a significant role in the work environment. Many workplaces nowadays include tasks that require cooperation among employees in order to help new workers get along with each other. Because harmonious relationships between colleagues can maintain a relaxed, healthy working environment. Leading to a boost in productivity and effectiveness at work. Another possible matter is that humans tend to be more active in groups rather than being alone, so belonging to a group will lessen the feeling of being a fish out of water. For example, a company with a stable and healthy environment is more likely to be able to produce better-qualified products, and attracts more talented workers. Therefore, developing social life in workplace is not only to provide a sense of belonging, but also a bridge to success for a business.

However, living is not always about working to earn money, there is a statement that says “Working to live, not living to work.”. A job is only a part of a bigger picture, while relationships in the workplace are only based on professionalism and the work’s nature, personal relationships are formed by years of attachment and understanding. After a long day of hard work, people tend to ask their friends out in order to let themselves unwind, or confide in their friends, families or even partners, to release stress and solve tangled problems in their head. Therefore, maintaining outside relationships is a support for better mental health and an important part of personal life.

In conclusion, while social circles in the work environment reduce loneliness and greatly contribute to promoting a business, personal relationships offer a place to let themselves be free and mentally satisfied. In my personal view, I lean more toward the latter opinion, which believes that developing social life outside of the workplace is essential and significant no less than in work.