Some research shows that older people are generally happier and healthier if they remain active. However, many elderly people today suffer from loneliness and poor physical health. What are the causes of this trend, and what measures can be taken to solve this problem?

Currently, a great number of older individuals face sense of isolation and physical problems unless they maintain healthy lifestyle, they would become upset. This essay will discuss primary causes for loneliness and poor physical well-being and provide possible methods to tackle them.

One of the key reasons why many elderly people feel isolated is physical limitations. After reaching a certain age, people may face age related problems such as reduced mobility or arthritis, which would make going outside and doing exercises intricate for them. For example, in Tashkent, because people over forties experience joint pain, they have to sit on a certain place without having an active walk. This has greatly minimized social interaction and social awareness since they do not have active social communication. One effective solution can be free, but quality healthcare. This is because the individuals often try to avoid becoming a burden on their children, so they keep in secret their illnesses. However, if the government provides special free healthcare for elderly individuals only, they would eliminate the problem with physical immobility and increase social engagement.

Another contributing factor for their deep loneliness is retirement. Many people after retirement feel socially isolated since they have been communicating with a great number of people throughout their life and now, suddenly they have to get used to sedentary lifestyle. In countries, such as Uzbekistan, an increasing number of elderly individuals have problems with social engagement since there is no special centres where they and their counterparts would gather and enjoy each other’s company. To address this problem, the state should be held accountable for making special community areas. If people were provided special area where they could gather together, this would give them a sense of purpose. For example, the authority can organize chess clubs where people can not only talk, but also think which would boost both communication and thinking ability. Consequently, this could prevent from the early stage of Alzheimer or Parkinson since their brains develop all the time.

In conclusion, elderly individuals usually feel isolated owing to retirement and age-related illnesses. These problems can be tackled by offering cost-effective, but quality medical care and special community centres.