TOPIC: Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays ís much better than it was in the past. Both view and give opinion?

There is a debate over whether getting old is not desired in today’s society, with some supporting this notion and others arguing that the life of today is much better than it was in the past. I firmly believe that today elderly people have more opportunities, despite some drawbacks.

Some believe that life of elder is worse now, and one primary reason can be age limit in jobs. Age limit in jobs – an age needed for retirement – exists in most, if not all, countries. In such countries like Australia or United States, for example, age limit is 67 years, until which they are unable to get pensions. Not all people are able to work up to this age beacause of the health problems, which results in difficulties in earnings.

Another reason can be competition in jobs. Young adults can take away jobs of elders before they are retired. If, for instance, employers notice a little drop in a quality of a work done by the elders, they would replace them with a younger generation. Overpopulation worked as a catalyst to this problem, resulting in a rising number of young adults who are eager to work. Elderly may, eventually, lose their jobs, which leads to a financial problems.

Despite its drawbacks, getting old in a modern world is not without its benefits, with one being advance in healthcare technologies. If elder people got particular illness, in most cases, it can be treated. Take Alzheimer’s disease – a condition in which people struggle with recalling things – as an example. There was no treatment for this mental issue in the past, but recently people found how to slow down this disease, improving lives of thousands, if not millions, elder people.

In summary, although getting old now has plenty detrimental sides like age limits and inevitable competition for jobs, new opportunities in terms of medicine make their lives more convenient.