More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information; therefore, there is no need for printed books, magazines, and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In light of technological advancements in recent decades, there is an ongoing trend toward individuals utilizing computers and electric-based tools to get access to information. As a result, opinions are divided on whether people do not need printed books, magazines, and newspapers. I completely disagree with this notion for the reasons outlined below.

It is understandable why some endorse using computers and electronic tools instead of traditional books and magazines. A key rationale is that people who use these state-of-the-art technologies can instantly update information that they need to know about without spending much time having to look for them in orthodox books or newspapers. However, this line of reasoning is not sound since if they are in some areas that do not have available Internet, or they have to face long-term power cuts, their cutting-edge tools will become useless since they cannot meet their users’ need to find out information. Moreover, a colossal of online tabloid journalisms nowadays only care about their views on social platforms instead of quality content, leading to misunderstandings in their online articles, which can exert a negative influence on users of these social media.

On the other hand, I opine that printed books, magazines, and newspapers are still of paramount importance to our daily lives. Chief of these is that reading conventional books can avoid several eye-related problems compared to electronic devices. A recent study conducted by American scientists has shown that children who take time to read printed books instead of electric-based ones can witness much less chance of being blind in their later lives due to less time spent looking into screens. This is a testament to how traditional books still play a vital part in our lives in spite of the appearance of modern technologies that help people access information.

In conclusion, although computers and electric-based devices are being used by more and more individuals, it is unimaginable to think about the disappearance of traditional books, magazines, and newspapers due to their importance in our daily lives.