More and more people claim that modern work patterns are a source of stress. What do you think are the causes of this? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

It is a fact that today a considerable number of people overwork at their workplaces, thereby dramatically affecting the mental health of employees. This essay will suggest productivity demands from the higher-ups as a cause of the problem, which in turn can be solved by implementing a healthy work-life balance.

High productivity, fast meetings, speedy submission of reports, and an overall quick job flow might hinder the well-being of workers. Therefore, when being demanded to complete a number of tasks during a short period of time, employees as a result are prone to feel burned out and stressed. This brings the contrary effect of it – low productivity and unwillingness to continue the work along with immense stress. To illustrate this occurrence, according to the survey done in 2015 by Tokai University, 83% of employees feel extremely deprived and stressed due to their occupations. Additionally, it is well known that Japan has the highest suicide rates due to the culture of overworking, with regard to that it can be confirmed that demanding requirements at the workplace have detrimentally adverse repercussions on one’s mental health.

The mentioned causes have an implied solution – work-life balance. Knowing one’s limits and identifying clear boundaries between work and personal life is a pivotal factor for a more prosperous lifestyle. Companies and CEOs shall consider more comprehensive and humane conditions for their employees, focusing on their mental and physical health, as well as introducing more flexible leaves from work. If utilizing these suggestions, not only will workers feel better, but companies will also witness advanced performance. Therefore, by prioritizing viable principles and values for their staff, companies can hamper the negative consequences of toxic work environments.

To conclude, it can be finally commented that the overworking culture indeed results in downscaled well-being and upscaled levels of stress. Hence, if following the work-life balance, paramount changes can be observed.