More and more students are choosing to study abroad for their tertiary education. Do you think the advantages of studying in a foreign country outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s society, an increasing number of students opt for studying abroad for their higher education. In my opinion, although education approach presents several advantages, its drawbacks outweigh them significantly.

There are indeed several benefits to pursuing education in a foreign country. Firstly, students’ development can significantly benefit from diverse cultures, languages and perspectives. With this exposure, studying abroad can help to foster open-mindedness, adaptability and empathy towards individuals from diverse socio-economic backgrounds. Moreover, studying in more developed countries can provide students access to higher-quality education and more modern research facilities. This can be especially beneficial for fields requiring advanced and new knowledge, such as energy or rocket science.

Notwithstanding the benefit, I am convinced that the aforementioned benefits pale in comparison to the drawbacks of this trend. The primary disadvantage is finance burden whether studying in foreign country, including higher education tuition fees, living expenses, etc. This problem, generally speaking, is a topic of interest and even put a strain on families who may needs to take a loan. On the societal level, students studying abroad tend to settle and work in the host country, contributing to brain-drain phenomenon. This migration of educated individuals can lead to a weakened workforce and slower progression

In conclusion, while oversea education offers more advantages for learners, comprehensive view, the drawbacks for families and societies, ranging from financial to brain-drain are stronger