More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

In contemporary society, the number of students studying overseas has been increasing in recent times. While there are valid concerns about the drawbacks of this trend, I believe that its merits are more substantial.

On the one hand, studying abroad may negatively affect students’ lives. One of these is the adverse impacts on students’ mental health. Those who study overseas possibly face homesickness and cultural shock as they reside and study under unfamiliar living conditions in a foreign country. This can result in demotivation, depression, and even some long-term psychological problems. Moreover, language barrier is a challenge that overseas students need to overcome. Due to the differences in languages, students may struggle to communicate with foreign people, which probably leads to misunderstanding and several difficulties in integrating with the local community.

I would argue that, on the other hand, the benefits of studying in a foreign country outweigh the aforementioned drawbacks. A chance for students to develop themselves is chief among these. Living and studying far away from their origin can assist them to be independent and train some valuable soft skills, namely cooking, communicating, and balancing their budget. Additionally, studying in wealthy countries is potentially a great competitive advantage for future career path. With superior quality of education, qualifications from top universities in developed nations are highly appreciated by numerous enterprises. Companies in Vietnam, for instance, tend to offer high salaries and guarantee employees who graduate from foreign universities job promotion. Last but not least, students can expand their knowledge and insights when studying in a foreign country. They are likely to gain access to a wide range of information about the latest technology which is beneficial to the technological advances and overall improvement of their motherland.

In conclusion, the detrimental effects on students’ mental well-being and the dissimilarity of languages may result from studying overseas. However, I firmly hold the view that the benefits of self-development, career prospects, and chances to broaden knowledge are more significant. It is therefore crucial for students to take account of both the positive and negative aspects of studying abroad.