More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

It can be generally agreed that education is of a great concern to students, especially studying at colleges and universities in a foreign country instead of studying domestically. In this day and age, this way of studying at colleges and universities is being chosen by more and more students. In fact, studying abroad is likely to help students receive better education and becomes more independent; on the other hand, it might lead to difficulty in adapting to a new environment and paying for all the expense. However, in my opinion, its advantages seem to outweigh the drawbacks. This following essay will classify my opinion before reaching final conclusion.

First, studying in an advanced country appears to be an ideal way to experience more modern education. In effect, studying abroad gives learners a chance to meet lots of experienced professionals and get access to modern facilities with excellent teaching methods from some developed countries such as America, Canada or England. Consequently, they can receive more advanced education, which their hometown does not have. In addition, studying in foreign country makes students learn to live independently. In effect, going to a completely strange country means they have to do everything on their own, including taking care of themselves and coming up against difficulties without any assistance. Therefore, day after day, they will possess their skill in dealing with problems under various conditions autonomously.

Contrary to those advantages, studying abroad is thought to be difficult for students to live in a different environment. Having lived in hometown for a long time makes students feel familiar with mother tongue and way of living, so when studying abroad, they have to change their old daily routines owing to the difference in language and culture. At first, it appears to be hard; however, in the long term, they can overcome this problem by acquainting themselves with new environment. Another downside is that studying abroad may cost more money than studying domestically, which is such a big handicap with students not having economic condition. Typically, because of its development, living cost and tuition fee in developed country may be higher than other country. By way of illustration, the average maximum annual tuition fee in the US can be more than 27.000 USD, meanwhile it in Malaysia and Singapore may be half of that in the US. As a result, it turns out financial pressure on learners who are from underdeveloped country.

In summary, despite its drawbacks such as obstacle in living in a different country and finance problem, studying abroad has considerable benefits of good education and learning to be independent