More and more work is being carried out by machines in all areas of our lives. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, most of the work in our lives is usually taken from robots. The advantages and disadvantages of this statement are discussed in the following paragraphs.

To commence with advantages, machines work faster than human and they can work day and night without break. In other words, people take long time to perform a specific task, in contrast, robots require a fraction of that time to do the same task. Also, individuals require break from work to boost their energy level, whereas machines have no such requirement. They can work even when they are plugged in for charging. For example, the headline of BBC (British Broadcasting Company) has revealed that, in China, almost 50% of work is taken from automatic machines because they are more reliable and efficient than mankind. As a result, fast and easy way to complete tasks is to replace citizens with robots.

Further shifting towards disadvantages, jobs of nation are at risk, as automatic machines are preferred to perform most of the tasks. To further explain, jobs opportunities for masses are reduced drastically after invention of robots, as most of the employers prefer robotic machines to work for them. For instance, research conducted in the United States has shown that unemployment has increased sharply after introduction of machines in industry. Therefore, rise in use of robotic manipulators in factories results in less employment opportunities for residents.

In conclusion, although addition of machines in our industry makes it easy to perform difficult tasks, yet it is challenging for mankind in form of unemployment.