More companies should employ older people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In todays world, many companies are opting to employ more people from older age brackets. This essay will examine the merits and the drawbacks this trend could offer.

To begin with, older people can contribute to the company greatly in terms of experince . In other words, companies could benefit from the experiences and skills older people have attained over the years. They have a better grasp of ideas and can offer solutions to many predicaments the company could face, as they most likely experienced the same of similar situation through their life. For instance, many multibillion companies CEO’s tend to be of the older age groups, as experience is one of the critical criterias companies look for. Additionally, seniors can serve as the best mentors, providing juniors with tips and saving them time by equipping them with what is necessary in terms of their work.

However, the toll old age can put on the body interfere with ones productivity. This drawback is not in the companies best interests, as today’s job market has a competitive nature and needs all employees to be at their top conditions, leaving no blind spots. Despite their wisdom, many older people suffer from health related issues that are associated with old age. For instance, macular degeneration and osteoporosis can affect vision and movement respectively. Therefore, this could limit their physical ability. As a result, hindering their productivity.

To conclude, A lot of companies consider assigning older generation, hoping they could benefit from their long years of experiment and wisdom. However, the negatives an aged body can bring should also be taken into consideration.