More companies should employ older people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Organizations should prefer older people more for employment. I will highlight the advantages and drawbacks of preferring older employees over young ones.

Elderly employees have a lot of experience in their field. They are trained professionals working for many years. They know the ethics and culture of professional organizations, even if it is mandatory for companies to retain old employees so that they can train new joiners in order to make a smoother journey for the organization. Senior employees are not only the assets but also the backbone of every company because in every critical situation companies always expect their senior employees to perform and outclass the problems.

On the contrary, young people do not have a lot of experience but are eager to learn new things and ready to face new challenges, which we often see in experienced employees; they always prefer to be in their shells. Young employees have more potential to learn and execute things in a little span of time as the majority of the younger generation have an ability to grasp things quickly and more efficiently. If companies continue to hire experienced employees, they might not be able to experience the energy and potential of new talent.

In conclusion, companies should hire experienced employees but not forget about the talent and energy of young blood that they bring with them to the organization. Companies should give equal opportunities to newbies and less experienced employees so they will have the platform to showcase their talent and also contribute to the growth of the organization.