More people are choosing to follow a vegetarian or vegan diet. Do the health benefits outweigh the potential drawbacks?

In recent decades, an increasing number of individuals are deciding to follow a vegetarian or vegan diet. While this trend offers numerous pros, such as not harming animals or preventing various types of diseases, I firmly believe that a variety of drawbacks far outweigh the benefits.

One potential advantage of following a vegan diet is that it may help to prevent the decline in animal populations, which could ultimately lead to the extinction of certain species. If the popularity of the meat industry starts to reduce, the number of animals killed for meat production will also automatically decrease, which will lead to a more secure ecosystem for animals. Moreover, throughout history, there have been numerous examples of diseases that spread because of animal meat utilization. The last time we faced a powerful disease, in terms of COVID-19, its reason for spreading was the consumption of a bat that carried a special type of virus. The mortality rates grew sharply, which brought several million deaths all across the planet.

In contrast, the drawbacks of a vegetarian diet are essential. Consumption of meat products plays a crucial role for our organism, such as filling our body with proteins, which are not available in green plants. Proteins are a vital factor for the growth of our body, so the ingredients exclusive to meat are very important for our development. Furthermore, the process of extracting green plants for a vegetarian diet can cause the demolition of animal habitats. Cutting down trees or destroying plants for human resources can sharply reduce the amount of food remaining for animals, so their food hunting process will become more complex, which will lead to a change in their habitat.

To sum up, while some humans think that by following a vegan diet they can help to ensure animal security, they are simply slowing down the development of their bodies and, in some cases, they can also harm the exact species. I personally believe that the disadvantages are genuinely more significant than the benefits.