More people are educating themselves with online educational sources. Do advantages outweigh dis advantages?

A great number of people are using educational resources that are found on the internet to educate themselves. In my opinion, this method is not much advantageous although it has some benefits. I believe the traditional educational system is not only helpful but also more accepted in our society.

Online education has numerous advantages as it is mostly free or in some cases, a very cheap price has to be paid. The affordable nature of online learning has made it popular with people from different parts of the society. Furthermore, this mode of learning is more flexible than the traditional institutional education system. Learners who are employed can easily study part-time on the Internet. For example, on Udemy, after purchasing a course, a student can take as much time as he or she wants to finish the course and collect the certificate after passing a test.

On the other hand, there are several downsides to taking up online resources to educate oneself. Free resources that are available on the internet are not correct all the time. As it is impossible to assess all the contents available online, it is risky to learn things from the internet. Like, one of the most popular websites in the world, Wikipedia contains lots of flawed and erroneous information. As it is a free website where anyone can write content and they are not checked, it is not wise to follow Wikipedia to learn complex topics. Additionally, online education has very little value in the society and the job market. Employers prefer institutional degrees over certificates that are achieved online.

In conclusion, I think online resources are good for developing some specific skills in different domains but they are to be followed carefully.