More people are educating themselves with online educational sources. Do advantages outweigh dis advantages?

In a contemporary era, development of new technologies made educational resources accessible for everyone. Hence, many people are studying and getting knowledge by themselves via usage of these materials. I contend it advantageous for people who want self-development and encounter with challenges in terms of offline studies. There are many disadvantages that must be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, online educational resources are truly convenient for everyone. People can get knowledge from all across the globe,by having access to the internet, for free, hence individuals do not need to pay for online courses that are accessible for everyone. On the other hand, I think it is advantageous for people with financial problems, but who have a big willingness to study and enhance their proficiency. For instance, websites Coursera and edX offer educational courses and advanced materials of prestigious universities like Harvard, Stanford, and Brown,that learners can study without application and enrollment problems.Flexibility is another benefit of online materials in terms of their convenience. For people who work full-time jobs, it is hard to find time to attend regular offline tuitions with particular schedule. Therefore, they can construct their schedule suitable for themselves, that will not affect their professional and personal lives.

On the other hand, this method of learning disadvantageous for some people who struggle with self-discipline and control. Because studying might be hard for some individuals due to lack of discipline and motivation that are mostly provided by teachers in-person classes, particularly in learning in languages. The language-polyglot channel on YouTube made statistics about their individual video views. As a result, the majority of people gave up learning languages after the first video. It was determined from the number of videos and declines of the audience as the number of videos increased. In conclusion, while there is a minor flaw of online studying for some people, I firmly believe that it is advantageous for most people on enhancing their practical proficiency in academic skills, and I can say that the pros of self-education outweigh cons.