Most large companies operate multi-nationally. To what extent are these companies responsible to the local communities in which they operate?

There is an increasing trend that reputable firms are now following the multinational operating method. In my perspective, these enterprises should be under obligation to ensure the quality of life of local residents who are affected by their operation in various ways.

Undoubtedly, transnational corporations are accountable for protecting the environment of their operation sites. This is supported by the fact that the production process often involves releasing tremendous amounts of toxic and hazardous chemical waste.This will inevitably lead to environmental pollution including bad air quality or water pollution, which have adverse bearings directly on local residents’ health. Therefore, these organizations must assume the responsibility for minimizing the volume of detrimental discharge by many approaches such as installing waste treating equipment and complying with local environmental protection laws. Obviously, without such commitment, the accumulation of toxic substances might trigger dire consequences.

Another accountability that should be held by multinational organizations is workforce development. These firms should employ local dwellers and train them to be high-quality workers as home workers are familiar with their country’s consumer market, which can increase the total revenue of the companies. For example, Samsung decided to establish a factory located in the North of Vietnam and they recruited Vietnamese engineers as their staff, along with training them to be skilled workers. This action has contributed enormously to the overall income of this corporation. This is the testament to illustrate an inextricable link between the development of multinational companies and higher chances for jobs and technological exchange for the local countries.

In conclusion, transnational organizations should be accountable for the aftermath of their operation activities in other nations and be cooperative with local people to reach higher goals. I firmly believe that these collaborations will invariably encourage the process of global integration in the future.