Most large companies operate multi-nationally. To what extent are these companies responsible to the local communities in which they operate?

In the globalisation era, multinational companies have been key factors in facilitating commerce and narrowing the culture gap. Most large businesses expand their operations in many countries around the world. While these companies contribute to the local and national economies, they also have a responsibility for the local community where their businesses are established.

Operating in foreign markets not only brings multinational firms opportunities for business expansion but also improves the standard of living for many local individuals. The investments made by large corporations penetrating the various markets, especially in disadvantaged countries generated a large number of jobs and stimulated the local economy. For instance, when tremendous companies run factories or offices in developing nations, they tend to provide well-paying jobs accompanied by training courses to create a professional workforce. Moreover, these businesses contribute to the public welfare related to infrastructure, education and healthcare by paying local taxes.

In recent years, more and more people have placed priorities on the duties of the environment. Multinational enterprises need to invest in green technologies and sustainable methods contributing to the sustainability of the local communities. This action not only preserves the environment but also encourages individuals’s awareness of sustainability in society. A prime illustration of this point is that companies can implement reforestation projects and cooperate with the local government in developing sustainable infrastructure to limit the negative effects on the environment. By doing this, these businesses will enhance their good reputation and brand awareness from customers.

In conclusion, it is a positive trend when multinational companies run their operations in foreign countries. Their beneficial influences on economies cannot be discounted, but in practice, they need to pay attention to sustainable approaches to alleviate harm to the atmosphere.