Most societies have homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. to what extent do you agree?

Homelessness is a social problem that occurs almost anywhere in the world. While it is often argued that financial donations are the most practical and effective strategy to tackle this issue, I believe that skill enhancement and well-organized donations are more measurable approach.

Giving money to homeless individuals is not the best way to solve the underlying problems. Those without a place to live in generally have no dependable daily income due to lack of a stable job, and the money from charity will only support them for a short period of time, within a couple days or weeks. Therefore, facilitating them with a training program is arguably a more strategic policy to make them qualified for better paid work in the future. This long-term solution is definitely more efficient than just offering them anything temporary.

Additionally, providing a large amount of cash to homeless persons without guidance on financial management may lead to several negative consequences. Being homeless sometimes means having to live in a community with raising social problems, such as gambling and drug addiction, among others. This circumstance could potentially motivate them to get involved in these forbidden activities. Therefore, to prevent these risky behaviours, direct financial assistance should be carefully evaluated.

In conclusion, not only is providing financial resources to homeless people ineffective to deal with the main roots of the problems in the long run, but it can also lead them to financial mismanagement and criminal activities. Therefore, well-informed policies should be prioritized to holistically solve these housing challenges.