Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Violent computer games and movies have become quite popular over the past few decades. Some individuals believe they pose a threat and support censorship of such content because they think it affects society negatively. Others, however, state that movies and games containing violence are just a form of entertainment meant to help people relax. I believe there is no need for total censorship as long as there are various age-based restrictions and other limitations.

Violence in movies and games is often too explicit and can be considered as ‘too’ negative. There is a belief that such content can make people more aggressive and even inspired to mimic violent behavior in real life. In fact, there have been criminal cases where addiction to computer games has been cited as a reason for committing crimes, especially among teenagers. From this perspective, violence in various movies and computer games can be seen as a threat.

Others, on the other hand, believe violence is only a part of entertainment. In movies, violent scenes can help make the scenes more realistic, improving the overall storytelling experience. In games, violence can be used to provide more excitement and allow people to perform acts they would never be allowed to in real life. This is why games like GTA have been so commercially successful, earning billions of dollars for decades. Therefore, violent content is sometimes believed to help escapism, which means there is mental relief thanks to a movie or a game.

In my view, there should be some limitations for viewing and playing movies and games of violent nature. Children, for instance, should not be allowed to watch them on TV, with channels showing such content later in the day, preferably after 23:00. Also, violent computer games should not be sold to anyone under the age of 20. This and many other sensible restrictions can help protect the mental health of young people. However, violence in movies and games should be allowed for the entertainment of an older age group.

In conclusion, it is true that violent subject matter in movies and games can have a negative effect on the development of younger people. Yet, there is no need for a total ban. Instead, a few reasonable restrictions can help ensure such content is only accessed by adults.