Movies and computer games containing violence are popular. Some people say they have a negative effect on society and should be censored. Others say they are just harmless relaxation. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few issues have generated as much debate in recent years as the impact of violence portrayed in movies and video games on society. Although these forms of entertainment may help people unwind after a stressful day, I believe that their detrimental effects on human psychology are far more significant and should receive greater attention.

On the one hand, some people argue that movies and computer games are among the best forms of entertainment in the contemporary world. They emphasize that people who think rationally understand that the violence portrayed in these forms of media has no connection to real life. In addition, as consumerism continues to grow, there is an increasing tendency for individuals to play these games or watch such movies in order to reduce their stress levels. For instance, tools such as Xbox and PlayStation encourage juveniles to spend time with their peers while helping them to forget daily problems.

Supporters of censorship on computer games and movies deliberately put forward the idea that the adverse effects surpass the positive ones, in terms of health, psychology, and social factors. Moreover, the demonstrated violence is known to have a direct influence on adolescent mental development, which can be affected by social factors easily. Many people have also been mentioning that they contribute to screen addiction among young people while promoting excessive screen-time. For example, teenagers who spend excessive amounts of time playing violent computer games may become socially isolated and perform worse at school due to a lack of concentration.

In conclusion, although there may be some benefits from movies and video games, greater attention should be paid to limiting the effects of violence on people, particularly juveniles.