Museums and such history-related places are mainly went by tourists but not local individuals. Why? What can be done to encourage local people?

In recent years, numerous museums and historical landmarks have been widely popular with travellers from other countries, but not local dwellers. The main reason for this is that people are not interested in their heritage sites as they have already been familiar with and consider them extremely boring while tourists are lured by diverse new locations and landscapes. To encourage people to go to their local museums and historical sites, more enticing facilities should be added there by the government and professional guides with adequate knowledge should be hired.

There are several factors contributing to the majority of people’s unwillingness to visit local historical places. One key reason seems to be that as local communities have already observed or heard about them from their acquaintances, they do not feel any interest in visiting them personally. This, in turn, can force individuals to think that if they went to similar museums or historical places in their living area, this would be a waste of precious time and money, which can be spent on more beneficial purposes instead. My grandmother, for instance, has never visited our local national museum where there are artifacts of medieval pottery items, the relic of manufacturing machines in 1850s and even the remnants of ancient religious books, because she considers local history uninteresting and unattractive. Thus, the ongoing tendency that the minority of residents visit places or institutions related to their history now is attributed to this.

The government, however, can implement some urgent measures to effectively attract more local people together with tourists. The primary solution can be organising new modern facilities beside the historical centres and museums as it may foster an enternating atmosphere with an opportunity to spend time more meaningful and interestingly. If parks, cafes that are specially designed in accordance with the history and playgrounds for children were opened adjacent to the historical destinations, this would be an excellent environment for visitors, local inhabitants in particular, to see how bright and fascinating their history is. In 2007, a park called Midjourney WL was established by the manager of the museum in Japan, resulting in a multitude of visits by native people rather than travellers from other nations, since that park included various attractions resembling historical items, such as antique swords and ships. Therefore, this method can be feasible to attract more people’s attention to their museums and heritage sites.

To conclude, aboriginal people’s uninterest in their ancient locations and museums stems from the traditional view that they are not of paramount importance. It can be efficiently resolved by authorities by providing entertainment amenities, which can make locals visit and be aware of their history.