Nations should produce their own food and avoid importing food. Agree/disagree?

It is sometimes said that countries should produce all the food for their populations to eat and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often suggested that it is necessary for countries to have self sufficient in food production and avoid importing. While there may be certain arguements against this suggestion, I still wholeheartedly agree with it for several reasons.

Opponents of this view may have several arguements. They may well argue that is that people will be at risk of starvation in some underdeveloped countries if the government continues to advise against importing food. This can be seen in Africa, a country with a hundred million of people are facing hunger have been made their citizens suffering from several adverse effects of weather phenomenon that leads to death from the lack of food. Without food supplies from other countries, people there especially children cannot grow up to help the country become better ,which means that they always endure severe famine. This is why some opponents may believe that the minimum of importing food is a reason for why people can easily at risk of hunger.

Nevertheless, I still firmly agree that food-self production is also a job opportunity. This is due to the fact that a country needs a large amount of food to produce, which is meaning that the government helps the local people to have a job to do and thus the population of unemployments will decrease. Chief among is that the authorities can check the food quality easily. They can come to the food factories in order to keep an eye on the processes as well as ensure the food standards are being well enough to supply to the users.

I acknowledge why some may oppose the idea that a country should not limit imports for people to avoid the shortage of food. However, I still strongly agree with this suggestion given the aforementioned reasons.