Nations should produce their own food and avoid importing food. Agree/disagree?

A school of thought would hold that domestic food production is of importance for their population and there should be a restriction on foreign imports. This essay will shed light on the opinion which agrees to foster local production without bringing in foods from other countries, but I still firmly agree with the view that food imports are more paramount of importance.

Proponents of this view may have several arguments to suggest that locally producing food could be favorable to economic growth such as opportunities of employment and beneficial for the finance of subsidiaries. They may well argue that being self-sufficient in producing requires the local companies to employ large numbers of employees which results in a balanced source of income for them due to the lack of competition from the overseas workforces. Another possible argument is that processed food which comes to the store directly without much delivery fee could be decreased in the prices and then subsidiaries would have better sales with the best quality they could provide. This is because own-provided factories have to pay for shipping their products through local roads which is relatively short, therefore, it would be cut down on delivery fees and be better in food preservatives. Nonetheless, in some situations such as the sudden change of weather patterns, they would definitely reduce the ability of producing seasonal products.

Therefore, I favor the view that importing several products from other nations would be better for food supply to be proficient and diverse in categories and in the long run, it could benefit exporting. Regarding the former, it is reasonable for some nations to enable importing some nutrition products from the countries that have a good reputation of food quality and possess the crops which are not available in their original agriculture. For instance, despite the impossible cultivating, cherry is quite popular in VietNam because it is nutritious and flavorful, proving that importing plays an important role in sharing the food supply around the world. Another reason for nation states opting to import other countries’ food is that it would bring back the chance to export their food too. This impulse can ultimately be the link between some countries to collaborate and to be in a bilateral relationship of finance.

Overall, I argue that though there are economic benefits to having a country making its own food, the nature of the modern globalized economy means that in the long run, countries might find it much more beneficial to import their food from overseas.