New technologies have changed the way children spend free time. Do the advantages outweigh potential disadvantages?

The emergence of new technologies has altered the decision of children on devoting their time. From my perspective, I tend to advocate that this trend leads to by far more negative influences than positive ones.

It is indisputable that new technologies contribute new efficient ways for cognitive development among children. To be more specific, with the help of gadgets, not only do students easily access a wide array of information, knowledge and skill, they may also approach several opinions. Consequently, their action of assessing daily problems from multiple perspectives and their applying findings from the Internet soon occurs, which directly affects their cognitive abilities. A research taken by a group of students from UCLA university substantiates that 70% of infants allowed to use electronic gizmos gave deeper recognition of society than others at the same age. This appears as a prime example for the efficiency of new technologies in supporting the cognitive skills of children.

Efficient in developing cognitive skills for young students as it may be, modern tools are claimed to bring more harm than good, especially in terms of physical and mental health. To begin with, the mushroom of their sedentary lifestyle links directly with overusing modern technologies. This lies in the fact that they devote most of their spare time online instead of taking part in outdoor activities, which then raises their lack of physical activities lifestyle. According to the General Statistics Office of Vietnam, Vietnamese children at the age of 12 to 15 spending more than four hours online daily have less than thirty minutes of exercise. Additionally, there is a higher possibility for young students over-relying on state-of -the-art gadgets to suffer from depression than those who do not. This is because they spend a large amount of their time with virtual friends and themselves rather than real people, which limits their communication skills and isolates them from society. After a long time not sharing, they may be soon trapped by negative ideas then the stem of depression inside them may flourish. In a conversation with Dr. May, a psychologist, suggested that online use participates as a fundamental role of 80% of depressed patients. Those have reinforced the negative aspects that technological breakthroughs may have.

In conclusion, although technologies may have beneficial participation to young people’s growth, disadvantages on physical and mental aspects prompted by them outweigh those positive developments. This raises a quest for effectively using modern technologies among primary, secondary and even high school children.