New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is common knowledge that the emergence of technological innovations has brought forth a shift in the way the junior spend their pastime, in which they are increasingly preoccupied with their cellular devices. Whilst this trend can be advantageous in some respects for their education, I contend that this trend is more detrimental rather than beneficial.

First of all, there is plausibility in the argument that children’s preoccupation with technologies in their free time poses several merits. One of which is the fact that it will impart digital literacy to the youngsters. The ability to adeptly navigate technologies can help them gain an edge in their future careers, since most lines of work in the future are bound to require technological and digital expertise. For example, usage of online video conferencing tools is integral in almost all jobs in order to expand the scope of communication as well as foster fruitful outcomes for all members. Through premature exposure to technologies, children are likely to see a boost in their future employment prospects. Another advantage worth noting can be observed in their education. With sensibility and moderation, children can utilize them to acquire useful information in their pastime as well as supplement their studies. To illustrate, a Sweden study on the patterns of technological usage among students of different age brackets highlights that older students are more prone to use AI models like ChatGPT with educational purposes, since they are tasked with more complex assignments.

In contrast, such a development can also engender numerous disagreeable habits in children. Firstly, it goes without saying that it drives addiction. The omnipresent appeal of the digital landscape has magnetized individuals of all age bands to such an extent that it is recognized as a global problem. For instance, the profusion of video games in cell phones and iPads have contributed to deteriorated academic performance along with reduced concentration levels among a multiplicity of pupils due to their arresting features, compounded by children’s impressionable nature. Secondly, increased usage of technologies leads to a widespread distaste for outdoor activities, for all the aforementioned reasons. This can result in a sedentary lifestyle, rendering children more susceptible to health concerns such as obesity and cardiovascular impairments. Thirdly, this trend is liable to desensitize the junior to sensational and sensitive issues. Such a phenomenon can be ascribed to the constant exposure to unhealthy content on the Internet, leading myriad young individuals to form skewed viewpoints and mindsets, thus making them less empathetic and subjecting them to mental illnesses. Fictional and non-fictional violence on social media platforms are a pertinent example concerning the pernicious influence of digital materials on impressionable youngsters.

In conclusion, much as technologies empower children to be more tech-savvy and academically proficient, they can cause addiction, health implications, in conjunction with indifference to others’ misfortunes and mental frailties. Ergo, I firmly believe that this trend is hugely deleterious and should be addressed with appropriate approaches.