New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

The way children spend their leisure time has changed by recent technologies. I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, which I will elaborate below.

Looking at the benefits, children can build connections by using social media. It might be said that they can make friends without needing to meet in real life. For example, when they go to the same school but one of their friends should move to another school, they still can be friends and maintain communication only using Instagram or TikTok. In addition, cutting-edge era brings technological invention, such as games, which makes children more likely to play it particularly when they have free time. Furthermore, it helps children improve their linguistic ability by learning foreign languages with games. Usually they play it online with other people across the world. They need to communicate with each other using a microphone so they are forced to talk, if they want to play the games. It is logical to conclude that even though they are in different countries, playing games makes them know foreign languages indirectly.

On the other hand, considering the drawback, technologically things experience children to become addicted using social media. In other words, social media brings more adverse effects because they can spend more time scrolling rather than studying. As a result, they are unable to focus while doing their homeworks. It also faces them in trouble academically. It appears that too much screen time causes them to have medical issues, such as dry eye or even brain rot. If they suffer this condition, they should be treated by doctors and it consumes several times for children to be healthy.

In conclusion, new technologies bring detrimental effect, such as being addicted when children scroll on social media. However, technologies are beneficial for children ranging from building connections to improving children’ linguistic ability.