New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

With the advent of modern technologies, many children have spent their spare time on digital tools. Although this development offers certain benefits, the drawbacks carry more weight.

There are obvious advantages for children to spend their time on new technologies. Chief among them is that new technologies prepare children for the new digital era. This is because the Internet and technological tools have become integral to everyday life and most people struggle to understand how these technological tools function. If children acquire knowledge of modern technologies, especially fields such as Artificial Intelligence(AI) and computer science in their spare time, they will be able to change the future. Moreover, modern technologies enable children to learn new skills. There are numerous child-friendly apps available today, such as YouTube kids and Duolingo. If children engage in these platforms constantly, they can master foreign languages and enhance their cognitive skills.

Despite these advantages, I believe that the upsides of new technologies are more significant. One of the main drawbacks is that social media affects children’s behaviour. This is because children are vulnerable to harmful content, thereby making them more aggressive and irritable. Another disadvantage is that nowadays most children have become unhealthy due to excessive use of technological means. For example, they play video games or watch harmful content at home or indoors, so that causes some health issues such as obesity or deficiency of D vitamin.

In conclusion, new technologies can help children develop skills. In my opinion, however, the negatives carry more weight. Modern technologies not only affects their behaviour but also lead to health problems.