News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

All people have a right to access to information, which is considered one of the most important things for humanity and social development. With assistance from news channels, this right has been consolidated stronger and stronger. However, various news agencies have been trying to focus too much on bad news to catch more audiences’ attention. As a subjective view, I believe one should keep track of real information including both bad and good tidings to have a truthful picture about our world. In my essay, I would answer all questions and clarify my opinion.

To begin with, news is of interest for social connections. This advantage can be seen even via everyday cases. Some can de-stress themeselves and feel more connected to each other by gossiping their interesting events. In a national scale, for example, the Vietnamese government have run a campaign to reduce usage of fossil-fuel-based energy sources and encourage their citizens to use greener and more sustainable ones. After this news, Vietnamese scientists have begun to concentrate more on solar, ocean, wind, and especially lithium-ion batteries. Furtheremore, news from political and economic areas also help everyone set a long-term plan from simple ones such as using more public transportation instead of personal vehicles due to high rising price of energy to more complex ones such as what companies should be invested in an era of energy scarcity. Thus without information, people would be harder to survive in this modern world literially and metaphorically.

Although all of news play a crucial role, too much bad news could affect negatively quality of human life. Unfortunately, this problem has been existing in our real world. Human beings are attracted more to bad news out of their curiosity. Hence, some irresponsible new agencies have take advantage of this psychological theory to concentrate on reporting bad news to maximize their profit.

In a relatively peaceful age of most countries, the main issues are no longer about drainful wars but psychological illnesses. Digestion of excess bad news such as sexual abuse of a step-father towards his step-daughter, painful deaths in the Russia-Ukraine war, hikikomori syndrome in Japan, and so on could facilely lead one become more depressed, lonelier, and end up suffering mental diseases. However, being filled with only good news would make one become an ill-informed person. For those reasons, to build a healthy society with full of well-informed citizens, news channels should convey both good and bad news balancedly.

All in all, news is always a necessary part of mankind. Nonetheless, news acencies should focus on bad and good news instead of biasing against either to construct a better future for our world.