Newspapers have an enormous influence on people’s opinions and ideas. Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, newspapers indeed have a huge impact on our society as they are the main source of information for many people. Some, contend that this would lead to many detrimental effects since it could affect people’s perspective on different things, while others believe otherwise. In my opinion, I am more of the latter one. In this essay, I will look at both sides of the argument and support my view with examples.

On the one hand, newspapers can be a driving force behind certain negative phenomena in our society as they have a great impact on people’s views. The most important one is that people can be affected by misinformation created by the media. This is because, most journalists nowadays are for-profit companies, which means that they only care about the revenue they make rather than the credibility of their information. That’s why there are a lot of clickbait headlines which often contain misleading information or untrue facts about an event.

On the other hand, Despite the drawbacks, I believe newspapers having a great influence on people’s choices is actually a positive trend. The reason behind this is that it could provide people with a large amount of data which they need to make a decision, for example, buying new furniture, investing money or traveling. Moreover, the untruth of newspapers can be resolved easily if readers classify their sources of news correctly, alleviating the chance they encounter fake news. As a result, this development might possibly be beneficial for individuals if our society were aware of the origin of newspapers.

To sum up, although newspapers can offer readers untrue information sometimes, I genuinely believe their affect on our ideas is a positive trend as it lets us decide more clearly.