Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society?

In current times, science has become a topic of debate. In institutes, small number of youngsters who choose to study science than other subjects. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss causes behind this phenomenon and impacts which have on society.

On the one hand, there are several reasons behind choosing science subject. Firstly, one main reason is that financial burden. Science subjects such as computer science, engineering and medicines often required high tuitions fees, which can be unaffordable for many students. Subsequently, students from middle class or lower-income background choose other subjects with low fees such as economics, history or social science. For example, student has dream to become a doctor but due to their financial issues he or she decided to pursue degree in economics, which has lower fees. This financial problem creates small number of students to select science subject.

Furthermore, science and technology are crucial for our society. Field like computer science, engineering and medicines contributed in advancement, infrastructures and healthcare industries. As a result, when students belong from lower-income backgrounds are unable to pursue these fields due to high fees, so society can lose talented individuals. For instance, if few students who are able to afford medical field, it results in fewer doctors, nurses, and any specialists in the healthcare system which can impact on quality of healthcare services. Hence, it may impact on society in various ways.

In conclusion, few students pursue science subjects around the world. Due to financial burden, they choose other subjects which required low fees. Consequently, society may lose talented people who are interested in science field.